Djokovic withdraws from Montreal as ATP wildcards announced

By Eric Gudris | @ATNTennis | Thursday 4 August 2022


Novak Djokovic withdrew from Montreal due to Canada’s ongoing policy of not allowing unvaccinated international travelers.

Credit: Pete Staples/USTA/US Open Facebook

Seven-time Wimbledon winner Novak Djokovic withdrew from the upcoming Masters 1000 ATP event in Montreal, Canada.

This was due to Canada’s ongoing official policy of not allowing international travelers who are not fully vaccinated against COVID-19 to enter the country.

Ivanisevic: Zero hope of rule change allowing Djokovic to play US Open

Djokovic, 35, whose retirement was announced a day before the official draw ceremony, continues to refuse vaccination.

Canada’s policy requires international travelers to be fully vaccinated at least 14 days prior to entering Canada. Djokovic’s stance on not taking the Covid vaccine prevented him from defending his title at the Australian Open earlier this year in Melbourne, Australia.

For now, Djokovic remains on the entry list for the US Open later this month. However, current US policy also requires international travelers to be fully vaccinated before entering the country.

On social media, Djokovic recently expressed his hope that an alternative solution would be found that would allow him to compete in New York.

“I’m preparing as if I’m allowed to compete while waiting to hear if there’s room for me to travel to the US,” Djokovic wrote. “Fingers crossed.”

Unless President Joe Biden issues an executive order giving Serbia international Djokovic the opportunity to play at the US Open, it is likely that the three-time US Open winner will watch the final Major of 2022 on TV.

Djokovic lost to Daniil Medvedev in the US Open final last year as he attempted to become the first man to win a calendar-year Grand Slam since Rod Laver in 1969.

Tennis Canada, the organizing body of the ATP event in Montreal, also announced wild cards for former world No. 1 Andy Murray, Belgian David Goffin and Canadians Vasek Pospisil and Alexis Galarneau.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.